Looking for Differential Gears

hudsonguy
hudsonguy Senior Contributor
edited November -1 in HUDSON
I've got a '49 Super Six with the Hudson rear axle, and the stock 4.10:1 ratio gear set. Since I've just got a three speed w/o overdrive, I'd like to investigate lowering my rear axle ratio to a 3.54:1, or something like that. Has anyone had experiences with this change? Any recommendations where I can get a spare pumpkin? I'd prefer to get the entire carrier, so I don't have to tear one down, and I'll still be able to switch back and forth between the two.

Any help is appreciated.

Doug

Comments

• Park_W
    Park_W Senior Contributor
    You want to find a "pumpkin" with the 3.58 gears used in '51 on Hudsons with Hydramatic. The way my Hornet runs with these gears, I find it incomprehensible that Hudson didn't use this ratio as standard in the stick shift Hornets.
  • Howdy- I'm new to Hudsons, but I did a similar change to a '52 Stude V8 w/OD. Went from a 4:55 to a 3:54, and what a difference in driving, especially on the freeway! I found a rear end out of an AT car, cleaned, resealed, and painted , then swapped the entire unit.
    Good luck!
  • With a 3.54 rear end and overdrive, your effective ratio would be 2.49 with overdrive engaged. This may be about the limit of the clutch loading. Just a thought. However, if you have lots of flat freeway driving, it would certainly cut the r.p.m. down and quieten things down. I have a 4.10 ratio in my Jet with overdrive, and the standard clutch wasn't up to the strain, I had to fit the heavier plate.
    Geoff.
  • Geoff ... "w/o" = without
  • Oops, humble apologies!!! The only worries would be real steep hills with a 3.54 ratio, so I suppose it depends on the terrain you are covering.
    Geoff.
  • Doug,