Do I need to keep the firewall support braces?

50Commodore
50Commodore Member
edited August 2012 in Street Rods
I have had installed a Fatman Fabrications Mustang II style front end on my 50 Hudson Commodore Coupe and am wondering if it is necessary to keep the metal support braces that went from the firewall to the original frame?

Dan

Comments

• Lee ODell
    Lee ODell Senior Contributor
    Remove support? SUPPORT, SUPPORT, SUPPORT. Sometimes we all ask questions we really know the answer.
    Lee O'Dell
  • ski4life65
    ski4life65 Expert Adviser
    Are those really supports? I will look when I get home, but I was thinking they were only attached by a thick piece of rubber, and were used to hold the inner fender wells in place.
  • Those also tie to the fender well to hold it in place so use your own judgement.
    Roger
  • 50Commodore
    50Commodore Member
    edited August 2012
    I know the question I ask may be dumb, but I am not a Hudson expert by any means. Like the brand a lot and this car has a bit of family history with it. The car I have has been disassembled for quite some time and is in the paint shop being worked on there. I asked this question to get answers that will help when I put the car back together and yes I know there are probably assembly manuals that I should purchase. If the braces I speak of hold the inner fender wells in place then of course I will reinstall them.
  • Some models also mounted horns to them ,but in your case that may not be an issue . The rubber can be replaced to improve the look .
    Roger
  • 50Commodore
    50Commodore Member
    edited November 2013