\'54 HUDSON FUEL PUMP

Unknown
edited November -1 in HUDSON
Two questions:
1. Any problem using an AC fuel pump for the '48-53 on the '54 Hornet? The number on the pump is hard to read but is a rebuilt pump with numbers something like 591308 or 593108....
2. If you hold the pump arm in a vice and "activate" the pump by hand, what vacuum reading would one expect to see? The book indicates the fuel pump on the car should produce 10-12" Hg at 500 RPM. I think I have a bad fuel pump and when I performed the test in the vice, I got just 4-5" Hg. I tried the rebuilt pump and got the same reading.

Comments

• 539108 is the part number on the boxed '48-'53 pump which also has AC on it.
  • Hi,
    I am not a mechanic, but recently purchased a 1953 Hudson Hornet that (Rudy Bennett) a fine genetleman and mechanic rebuilt excellent '54 Hornet engine using a AMC-4" 3120S Carter fuel pump, I may add the engine is a 12v system, I hope this helps.

Good Luck,

Ray
  • [ QUOTE ]
    Hi,
    I am not a mechanic, but recently purchased a 1953 Hudson Hornet that (Rudy Bennett) a fine genetleman and mechanic rebuilt excellent '54 Hornet engine using a AMC-4" 3120S Carter fuel pump, I may add the engine is a 12 volt system, I hope this helps. Sorry for incorrect information in ealrier post, AMC fuel pump was used in 1956 308 engine block.

Good Luck,

Ray

[/ QUOTE ]
  • You didn't mention if this pump was recently manufactured, of if it's been sitting on the shelf for a number of years. Even if it were to actually fit the Hudson, I'd be a bit wary about using it, if it's older stock. The gaskets dry out. And the newer rebuilt pumps have gasket materials that are more resistant to some of the newer fuels, than the gaskets were many years ago.

If this AC pump is old, I'd recommend the AMC pump (assuming it's fairly new) or a recently rebuilt pump from someone like Dave Kostansek. A bad 'bargain' pump may be no bargain if you end up stalled far from home!