Need info on 1948 Hudson Commodores...

[Deleted User]
edited November -1 in HUDSON
Hi,

I am new to Hudsons and just bought an original 1948 Hudson Commodore 4 dr sedan (6 cylinder) from the estate of the original owner.... I haven't received the car yet but here are my questions:

How do I know if it has the optional overdrive?

What were the trim options for this car? ie: what constitutes a brougham model?

What were the options available for the 1948 Commodore?

That's it for now. I'm planning on joining the Hudson club so I'm looking forward to learning everything about this great car. Thanks for your help! Regards, Niels

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    If it has overdrive you will have a round chrome knob under the dash and to the left (I think) of the steering column. It usually has a couple concentric circles embossed in it.

The Commodore was the top of the line Hudson, the Super Six had the lesser trim level. The 'brougham' was a 2-door sedan; that is, it had the same body as the 4-door (semi-fastback) but only two doors.

I don't have a clue as to all the options available but some would have been radio, heater, overdrive, Super-Matic or Drive-Master (various combo's of semi-automatic clutch and shifter), under-dash tissue holder, high-compression cylinder head, tire pump, spotlight, fog lights, exterior metal visor, and a raft of other items both important and inconsequential.
  • Uncle Josh
    Uncle Josh Senior Contributor
    Niels, Welcome to the Commadore Class.

Jon's a good friend and has a 37 Terraplane Convertable.

The OD lockout is on the right. The OD unit itself is an 8 inch extension of the transmission.

If it has the automatic clutch/shift options they are 1 or 2 electromechanical monstrosities bolted to the driver's side of the motor. The first dash knob to the right of the wheel would be the off/on switch.