Newbie member and a Newbie Hudson question...

[Deleted User]
edited November -1 in HUDSON
Hello to all the Hudson Enthusiests here, great forum. I'm new to owning Hudsons, but they have been in the family (just before my time because I wasn't driving till all the Hudsons had passed out of the family and out of business). My Grandfather moonlighted as a Hudson salesman when he wasn't serving as a local Police Officer in Pennsylvania just ouside of Philadelphia. I think the dealership was called "Cornell Hudsons" and is curently "Whites Tires" I think. It was in the Glenside/Weldon area. Dad use to "borrow" the Hudsons for a little street racing in the late 50's and early 60's. All my interest comes from the stories and fan fare I heard growing up about the Hudsons and Cadillacs in the family. Now that my interest has brought me here I have a few questions I can't get answered because my Grandfather has passed away and Dad doesn't seem to remember to many of the details, so if someone here doesn't mind helping me with some of my minor detail questions I'd be very greatful.

For now my initial interest is in the 4 door 53 Hudsons. I can find a good bit of info on the Hornet, but I can't seem to find any detail on the difference between the Hornet and the Wasp and Super Wasp models except that they were a cheaper version of the Hornet. Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance,

Herbert J. Mooney III

Dillsburg, PA

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Welcome to the wild and wonderful world of Hudsons, Herbert. I am not an expert on the newer ones, but the Wasp models (and the Pacemakers before them) were a shorter-wheelbase version of the Hornet models, and had a lesser trim level as well. The engines were different too. For '53, Hornet had a 124' wheelbase, while the Wasp models had a 119'. The Hornet had a 308 cid engine, while the Wasp and Super Wasp had a 232 and 262 cid, respectively.