Rust repair

Unknown
edited November -1 in HUDSON
Our new Hornet has a bad case of rust in the outer frame rails (don't know how bad yet). I've read Ken Cates' excellent article and I'm just solicitiing advice. What kind of product can be used to put inside the hidden areas of the frame to preserve it? POR-15? I plan to cut out the bad metal and replace it but this car is rather good cosmetically and I don't want to take it apart completely.

Comments

• Club Coupe
    Club Coupe Expert Adviser
    POR-15 is your best bet to preserve all the hidden noons and crannys along with floor pans and the trunk floor. You will probably want to use some type of sprayer with a long nozzle (like a garden sprayer) to get into all the blind and tight spots.
  • PoR has instruction for spraying the material. The out come of your actions will depend on how well you are able to address the inside of the rails. While I have no experience in the processing of the inside of the rails, it would seem to me that if you cannot obtain a complete seal the process of oxidation will continue.

The cost of PoR and similar products is quite high but worth the cost where you are able to assure a complete seal. Somewhat like adding a powder coat.

Good Luck
  • Park_W
    Park_W Senior Contributor
    POR-15 will surely do the job, but Eastwood's rust conversion product has been found superior in some respects by a couple of restoration magazines. Check it out.
  • Uncle Josh
    Uncle Josh Senior Contributor
    Eastwood's stuff is 'Corrolis' at about $23 /qt. Goes on nice, dries hard (if ya get it in the threads your gonna have to tap em out) and covers quite a lot. It's essentially epoxy and glass flakes.

Also there is a similar product called 'Hammerite' which comes in several colors in either hammered or smooth finish. At your local 'True Value' hardware, or find it on the web. at about $12 /qt.