Hi everyone,

Unknown
edited November -1 in HUDSON
I'm a newbie here and am getting my 1949 Super Six Sedan out of mothballs. I haven't kept up with the Hudson world lately and am wondering where the best sources are for parts, a shop manual etc.

After going thru the brakes, carb, fuel pumps (elect & mech) I've got her running fairly well but it sounds like I have a loose tappet and would like to adjust the valves. It appears that the manifolds need to come off for access, or is there another way?

Thanks,

John

Comments

• Jon B
    Jon B Administrator
    Welcome back to the Hudson world, John. You didn't mention whether or not you were a member of the H-E-T but of course the Club Store has a number of helpful things including shop manual reprints. And the WTN has lots of parts sources in its advertising. The main Club webpage is at http://www.hudsonclub.org/ in case you haven't been there. You might also try our Chatroom at http://www.classiccar.com/hudson_chats.htm . Generally, you'll find folks there in the evening (say, after 8:30 - 9 PM EST, evenings) and if they can offer helpful advice they certainly will.
  • Uncle Josh
    Uncle Josh Senior Contributor
    Inlets are 2,4,5,8,9,11,

Exhausts are 1,3,6,7,10,12,

1 revolution valve adjustment sequence

1 & 4 up, adjust 9 & 12

8 & 10 up, adjust 3 & 5

2 & 6 up, adjust 7 & 11

9 & 12 up, adjust 1 & 4

3 & 5 up, adjust 8 & 10

7 & 11 up, adjust 2 & 6

Done!

Uncle Josh
  • not necessary to pull manifold to adjust valves. just take off inner fender panel, rh side , pull wheel and tire get the valve covers off and go to it, bill albright, please join HET, IF NOT A MEMBER
  • Thanks Jon, Josh & Bill

Josh, good info, thanks…..I assume the valve sequence you posted starts with #1 cyl set @ TDC, and requires one rotation to set all? I see that the recommended lash is .010 int, .012 exh hot. Is it possible to adjust them cold with the engine off, and if so, at what lash?