Unknown
edited November -1 in HUDSON
NEED the 54 Hornet or Super Wasp left front fender antenna
and rubber support; will probably also need the cable to
connect to the radio.

THANKS.

John Williams => jgw2@bellsouth.net

Comments

• The radio antenna is mounted on the front of the roof centered on the windshield, not on the fender. K-gap has the antenna pad for a roof mounted antenna. If you want to mount the antenna on the fender just use anything from your local parts store, Pep Boys, Autozone, J.C. Whitney, etc.
  • PAULARGETYPE
    PAULARGETYPE Senior Contributor
    THE 54 ANTENNA WAS ORIGNALY ON THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE FENDER AS STATED ANY GOOD ORIGNAL TYPE ANTENNA WILL WORK THERE ARE MANY TO CHOOSE FROM THE FORD AND CHEVY SUPPLYERS HAVE ALOT OF DIFFERENT SUPPLERS TO CHOOSE FROM GOOD LUCK
  • I am by No means an expert, but the only 54s I have seen with factory installed fender antennas were the convertibles. My coupe and every sedan that I have seen with the factory radio install has the antenna above the windshield. There may have been a radio retro fit that had the antenna mounted on the left front fender. Just my observation, as I said I am no expert....
  • I'm not an expert either, but I do have a fairly good library of Hudson literature. It appears that the antennas were roof mounted through the 1956 full size Hudsons. The only exception is the Italia which had the antenna mounted on the left front fender (driver's side). I imagine that if a dealer installed a radio that for sake of ease the antenna was mounted on the front fender, but the factory installation placed the antenna on the roof.
  • Wading in too...