Looking for my old 49 Conv.

SuperDave
SuperDave Senior Contributor
edited November -1 in HUDSON
Every now and then, I post thread to see if my old 49 Com 8 Conv is out there somewhere . The vin number is 49458715. Last known sighting was in Iowa and listed on Ebay. I wrote to the seller, but didn't get any reply. It didn't sell. I think someone was just fishing for a value maybe for insurance purposes.. I have looked through the new roster, but didn't see it. Perhaps i overlooked it. If anyone out there knows of a car that might be "her" let me know. I have some interesting background history on the car that the present owner would find interesting. I know I couldn't afford to buy it back, so I wouldn't even ask!

On the subject of Convertible Broughams. Many years ago, conventional thinking was that in the years 48 and 49, the conv. bro.was offered only in Super 6 and Commodore 8. Not in Super 8 or Commodore 6. Back then I looked at every 48-49 conv.that I could. I never saw an actual exception to this. The ones that were an exception, upon questioning the owner, had been modified. As an example, A '49 Commodore 6 from the Miami area (Owned by Dale and Loretta Shank) started life as a 50 super 6 conv and had extensive rebuilding into a 49 Commodore trimmed with a 308. Has the thinking changed over the years? I guess the question is.. Does anyone have a genuine documented 48 or 49 Convertible Brougham car that is a Super 8 or Commodore 6? I'm looking forward to the replys.

Thanks,

Dave W. Fl

Comments

• hudsontech
    hudsontech Senior Contributor
    From what I can find out, in my digging around, Convertible Broughams, in 1948 and 1949, were offered in Super and Commodore Sixes and Commodore 8's.

Hudsonly,

Alex B
  • I Own A Genuine 49 Comm 6 Conv With Power Windows And Top, Orig Graining And Leather Interior Bright Red With Tan Top A Hornet 308 With Twin H And Overdrive A Real Cruiser, Bill Albright Have Owned A 48 C6 And Several 49 C6s And 8s
  • Jon B